Personal tools

Board of Directors

The Foundation has a big volunteer board with a long reach. Our volunteer board represents big business and small, family owned-firms, the Albuquerque community and has ties to almost every part of our city. We even have APS students who are full voting members. But mostly, we have passion. Our board cares — and puts in sweat equity to help make the Foundation great.

APS Foundation Board of Directors 2021-2022


  • Jasylyn (Jasy) ShiparskiPresident
    Jasylyn Shiparski
    Technology Integration Group
  • Krista Koss ParkerVice-President
    Krista Koss Parker
    Cafeteria Plan Company
  • Mark BurkhardTreasurer
    Mark Burkhard
    Southwest Capital Bank

Voting Members

  • Leola AdamsLeola Adams
    Hub Southwest
  • Rhiann AtencioRhiann Atencio
    Alliance Data Systems
  • Brenda BegleyBrenda Begley
    Clear Channel Outdoor
  • Liliana Benitez De LunaLiliana Benitez De Luna
    Sutin, Thayer & Browne, APC
  • Jeff CainJeff Cain
    Rio Grande Credit Union
  • Mike ChambersMike Chambers
    TLC Plumbing
  • Adrian ChavezAdrian Chavez
  • Carlos FourzanCarlos Fourzan
  • Patrick GayPatrick Gay
    Westwind Landscaping Construction, Inc.
  • Courtney JacksonCourtney Jackson
    Community Member
  • Kaylah JanisKaylah Janis
    Student, Sandia High School
  • Jaedyn Jiminez-MahboubJaedyn Jiminez-Mahboub
    Student, Atrisco Heritage Academy High School
  • Heather JohnsonHeather Johnson
    New Mexico Bank and Trust
  • Paula MaesPaula Maes
    New Mexico Broadcasters Association
  • Shona MartinezShona Martinez
    Colliers International
  • Diana MontoyaDiana Montoya
    Community Member
  • Amy NigrelliAmy Nigrelli
    Nusenda Credit Union
  • Kaya PerceKaya Perce
    Student, Albuquerque High School
  • Julianne PharesJulianne Phares
  • Luis QuinonesLuis Quinones
    Lakeshore Learning
  • Alarie Ray-GarciaAlarie Ray-Garcia
  • Julie RoweyJulie Rowey
  • Randy ShafferRandy Shaffer
    Blue Cross & Blue Shield of New Mexico
  • Joseph TrimbleJoseph Trimble
    Wells Fargo Bank
  • Joseph F. Varro, JrJoseph F. Varro, Jr.
    DSRM National Bank
  • Katrina WagnerKatrina Wagner
    Sandia National Laboratories

Non-Voting Emeritus Members

  • Jon Barela - The Borderplex Alliance
  • Dale Dekker - Dekker/Perich/Sabatini

Non-Voting Ex-Officio Members

  • Dr. David Peercy - APS Board of Education
  • Scott Elder - Superintendent, Albuquerque Public Schools
  • Monica Armenta - Executive Director, APS Communications
  • Ellen Bernstein - President, Albuquerque Teachers Federation