Personal tools

Leadership Team

Albuquerque Public Schools is led by a team of committed, distinguished, and highly accomplished individuals working together to educate and improve the lives of students.

 

Superintendent's Cabinet

Zone Associate Superintendents

  • Gene Saavedra

    Gene Saavedra

    Assoc. Superintendent
    Zone 1 Schools: Albuquerque, Highland, and Manzano high schools and their feeder schools

  • Antonio Gonzales

    Dr. Antonio Gonzales

    Assoc. Superintendent
    Zone 2 Schools: Atrisco Heritage, Rio Grande, and West Mesa high schools and their feeder schools

  • Amanda DeBell

    Amanda DeBell

    Assoc. Superintendent
    Zone 3 Schools: Cibola, Valley, and Volcano Vista high schools and their feeder schools

  • Troy Hughes

    Troy Hughes

    Assoc. Superintendent
    Zone 4 Schools: Eldorado, Del Norte, La Cueva, and Sandia high schools and their feeder schools

Instructional and Operational Support

Instructional Support 
DepartmentDirectorPhoneEmail
APS Education Foundation Shannon Barnhill,
Executive Director
(505) 881-0841 foundation@aps.edu
Budget and Strategic Planning Rosalinda Montoya,
Executive Director
(505) 880-3777 rosalinda.montoya@aps.edu
Curriculum & Instruction Joyce Gormley,
Executive Director
(505) 872-6874 joyce.gormley@aps.edu
Educational Technology Shellmarie Harris,
Executive Director
(505) 830-6876 edtech@aps.edu
Legislative Affairs Heather Bassett,
Policy Analyst and
Legislative Liaison
(505) 880-3737 heather.bassett@aps.edu
Office of Accountability
and Reporting
Thomas C. West,
Executive Director
(505) 872-6805 thomas.west@aps.edu
Office of Innovation Mark Garcia,
Executive Director
(505) 880-3753 garcia_mark@aps.edu
Student, Family, and
Community Supports
Kristine Meurer,
Executive Director
(505) 855-9800 kristine.meurer@aps.edu
Title I Penelope Buschardt,
Executive Director
(505) 253-0330 buschardt_p@aps.edu
Human Resources Support
DepartmentDirectorPhoneEmail
Staffing & Employee
Relations
Jessica Rivera,
Director
(505) 880-3700 rivera_j@aps.edu
Labor Relations Valerie Hoose,
Executive Director
(505) 880-3700 valerie.hoose@aps.edu
Operations Dorothy Chavez,
Director
(505) 880-3700 chavez_do@aps.edu
Special Education Support
DepartmentDirectorPhoneEmail
Evaluation and
Related Service
Bernadette Lucero-Turner,
Executive Director
(505) 855-9903 turner_b@aps.edu
Student Achievement Claudia Gutierrez,
Executive Director
(505) 855-9900 gutierrez_cl@aps.edu
Compliance Eulalia Gonzales,
Executive Director
(505) 855-9937 eulalia.gonzales@aps.edu
Operational Support
DepartmentDirectorPhoneEmail
Athletics Adrian Ortega (505) 884-9580 ortega_ad@aps.edu
Capital Master Plan Kizito Wijenje,
Executive Director
(505) 848-8875 wijenje@aps.edu
Communications Johanna King, Director (505) 881-8421 communityrelations@aps.edu
Facilities, Design and Construction Karen Alarid,
Executive Director
(505) 848-8810 alarid_k@aps.edu
Food and Nutrition Services Sandra Kemp,
Executive Director
(505) 345-5661 kemp_s@aps.edu
Operations John Dufay,
Executive Director
(505) 765-5950 dufay@aps.edu
Police Steve Gallegos, Chief of Police (505) 880-3712 gallegos_ste@aps.edu
Risk Management Michael Brown,
Senior Director
(505) 880-3712 michael.brown@aps.edu
Service Center Teise Reiser Ferrell,
Executive Director
(505) 855-9040 teise.reiser@aps.edu
Student Transportation Royce Binns, Senior Director (505) 880-3989 royce.binns@aps.edu
Technology Ian Cook, Executive Director (505) 830-8040 ian.cook@aps.edu