Personal tools

Indian Education Committee

The Indian Education Committee (IEC) includes parents, one teacher/counselor and one high school student.

Meeting Minutes and Bylaws

About the Indian Education Committee

The Indian Education Committee oversees programs to meet the unique educational needs of Native American students. They approve all programs and budgets funded by the Johnson-O'Malley Program (JOM). The committee consists of elected parents and guardians of Indian students who are enrolled in APS schools.

About the Meetings

The IEC meets monthly at specified locations and communities or are held virtual. Their role is to advise and support educationally related programs and services to families and students. The meetings are open to the public.

Contact the Committee

If you would like to contact one of the following members, please call the office at (505) 884-6392, ext. 80440.

IEC Committee Members, 2021-2022
Chairperson Wes Corben
Vice Chair Giselle Montoya
Secretary Alexis Perea
APS Teacher/Counselor Representative Mildred Chiquito
At-Large Parent Representative Lauren Stewart-Brunelle
At-Large Parent Representative Patricia Toya
Pueblo of Zuni Parent Representative Suzanna Tenorio
To'Hajiilee Parent Representative Jacqueline Platero
Navajo Parent Representative Shamenika Nelson
High School Representative Tehya Barber