Personal tools

Early College Academy

“Together we have experienced life. Separately we will pursue our dreams. Forever, our memories will remain.” -Unknown

Graduation Ceremony Video

Live Stream Closed Caption Back-Up

Graduation Details

Wednesday, May 12, 2021

  • Time: 5:30 p.m.
  • Location: Albuquerque Civic Plaza
  • Class Song: Don’t Stop Believing - Journey
  • Class Animal: Wolf
  • Class Flower: Sunflower

Commencement Program

  • Master of Ceremonies: Bailey Rowe - Activities DIrector
  • Processional: "Pomp and Circumstance," Edward Elgar. 
  • National Anthem: Lilly Martinescu
  • Introductions: Principal Patrick Arguelles
  • Reading of Senior Class Poem
  • Top 10: Counselor Lynn Ramsey
  • Introduction of Student Body President: Bailey Rowe
  • Senate Officer Address: Lucia Coca 
  • Introduction of Salutatorian & Valedictorian: Bailey Rowe
    • Valedictorian Address: Carter Heinrich
    • Salutatorian Address: Richard Ross
  • Special Awards:  Lynn Ramsey & Pat Arguelles
    • Citizenship
    • Educational Achievement
    • Academic Excellence
    • Scholar Athletes
    • Principal’s Award
  • Presentation of Class: Patrick Arguelles
  • Acceptance of Class:  Member of the Board of Education
  • Presentation of Diplomas: Lynn Ramsey
  • Turning of the Tassels: Ria Schultz
  • Final Thoughts: Patrick Arguelles
  • Recessional: Recessional: Rondeau

 Top Ten Graduating Students of 2021

  • Sergio N. Abriola
  • Kaeli M. Benavidez
  • Lauren N. Glaser
  • Carter L. Heinrich
  • Mohammed B. Khan
  • Cayden C. Mannos
  • Eva R. Mueller
  • Aryanna J. Nicasio
  • Taha Raad
  • Richard Ross


Special Thanks to

  • Taylor Betzen
  • Amanda Cortez
  • Angel Saavedra
  • Mary Gomez
  • Lupe Pedro
  • Yolanda Herrera
  • Harold Pope
  • Marianna Herrera
  • and to everyone else on the ECA/CEC Team who helped make Commencement and all the Senior events a huge success.

Albuquerque Public Schools Board of Education

  • President Dr. David Peercy
  • Vice President Lorenzo L. Garcia
  • Secretary Yolanda Montoya-Cordova
  • Peggy Muller-Aragón
  • Barbara Petersen
  • Candelaria Patterson
  • Elizabeth Armijo

Albuquerque Public Schools Leadership Team

  • Scott Elder - Superintendent
  • Dr. Richard Bowman - Chief Information & Strategy Officer
  • Yvonne Garcia - Chief of Schools
  • Gene Saavedra - Associate Superintendent for Zone 1
  • Dr. Antonio Gonzales - Associate Superintendent for Zone 2
  • Amanda DeBell - Associate Superintendent for Zone 3
  • Troy Hughes - Associate Superintendent for Zone 4
  • Dr. Gabriella Blakey - Chief Operations Officer
  • Todd Torgerson - Chief, Human Resources & Legal Services
  • Tami Coleman - Chief Financial Officer
  • Dr. Madelyn Serna Marmol - Assistant Superintendent E, I, & S
  • Shellmarie Harris - Executive Director, APS Information Technology
  • Stephanie Fascitelli - Associate Superintendent Special Education
  • Monica Armenta - Executive Director, Communications
  • Shannon Barnhill - Executive Director, APS Education Foundation
  • Kristine Meurer - Executive Director, Student, Family & Community
  • Mark Garcia - Executive Director, Office of Innovation
  • Brenda Yager - Executive Director, BOE Services Office
  • Steve Gallegos - Chief of School Police

ECA 2020-2021 Leadership Team Members

  • Patrick Arguelles - Principal
  • Rebekah Floryance - Assistant Principal
  • Lynn Ramsey - Counselor 
  • John Potter - Special Education 
  • Shanel Fretwell - Dean of Students
  • Mark Walker - Member At Large 
  • Bailey Rowe - Activities Director 
  • John Glaser - Planetarium
  • Sue Estell - Technology 
  • John Glaser & Shanel Fretwell - Teacher Leaders 
  • Rebecca Weatherford, Mark Mulroy, Tracie Bartlett, Lorena Glaser, Gabino Noriega, Paty Carreon - Instructional Council

Attending the Ceremony

  • Graduates will be limited to four (4) guests each*
  • Each guest will be required to have an admission wristband to enter the Nusenda Community Stadium or Albuquerque Civic Plaza (admission wristbands will be distributed to graduating seniors by each graduate's school)
  • Masks or cloth-face coverings are required by all attending or participating in the ceremony.

*If Bernillo County moves back into Yellow Level Restrictions, Graduates will be limited to two (2) guests each.

Viewing Alternatives 

Those unable to attend ceremonies will be provided with viewing options.  Ceremonies will be live-streamed along with being recorded and posted to the district's graduation webpage for future viewing.  Information for accessing live stream ceremonies and recordings of ceremonies is available on the district's graduation webpage.