Personal tools


Posted: September 17, 2013

Superintendent Meets with Newly Formed Teacher Advisory Council

The group nicknamed SuperTAC will gather information and provide feedback on a variety of issues from budget to policy to teacher evaluations.

Superintendent Winston Brooks met with a 20-member Teacher Advisory Council for the first time Monday afternoon. Nicknamed SuperTAC, the group was recently formed to serve a similar role as the successful Superintendent's Student Advisory Council or SuperSAC.

Both groups gather information that they can take back to their schools as well as provide feedback on a variety of issues ranging from budget and policy to safety and classroom issues.

“We want and need to hear from those who have their boots on the ground,” said Superintendent Brooks. “I’m excited to hear what issues, solutions and good things are going on in our schools, and this will be an opportunity to hear from the teachers who are making a difference in our student’s lives every day.”

During the first meeting of SuperTAC, teachers talked about their biggest challenges during this school year. Concerns raised ranged from implementing Common Core State Standards to teacher evaluation to truancy.

“These are the issues that our teachers are talking about and we need to hear them.  We may not be able to deal with everything directly but I am glad we get to have honest conversations about what is going on in our schools,” Brooks added.

The members of the Superintendent’s Teacher Advisory Council are:

  • David Baldwin, Highland High School
  • Rebecca Boone, Hoover Middle School
  • Stephanie DeBellis, Emerson Elementary School
  • Andrea Dountas, Double Eagle Elementary School
  • Rose Ferjentsik, Garfield Middle School
  • Natalie Figueroa, Volcano Vista High School
  • Pat Halama, John Adams Middle School
  • Deborah Irving, Los Ranchos Elementary School
  • Karen Kingsolver, Los Ranchos Elementary School
  • Valerie Kovach, Atrisco Heritage Academy High School
  • Bonnie Maldonado, Jefferson Middle School
  • Jamen Medina, Van Buren Middle School
  • Erin O’Neil, Sombra del Monte Elementary School
  • Marco Ortiz, La Mesa Elementary School
  • Paul Roensch, Eldorado High School
  • Jonathan Saiz, Armijo Elementary School
  • Laurel Semsch, John Adams Middle School
  • Ruthann Woods, Tomasita Elementary School
  • Catherine Zoladz, Onate Elementary School