Personal tools

News from 2022-2023

Posted: June 16, 2023

Three APS Board Seats, Mill Levy Will be on November Ballot

Two-mill levy provides funding for such things as maintenance, security, operations, technology, and musical instruments; tax rate would remain the same.

The Albuquerque Public Schools Board has approved a proclamation setting Nov. 7 as the date of the next school board election and asking voters to approve a mill levy that would continue funding for maintenance throughout the district without raising the tax rate.

The mill levy would be a continuation of a tax already in place, not a new one.

Three APS board positions will be on the ballot in November:

  • The District 1 seat currently held by board President Yolanda Montoya-Cordova, who isn’t seeking reelection
  • The District 2 seat held by board Vice President Peggy Muller-Aragón. Muller-Aragón will be seeking another term.
  • And the District 4 seat now held by board member Barbara Petersen, who isn’t planning to run for another term.

A candidate orientation will be held at 5 p.m. on Aug. 9 for community members interested in running.

Anyone planning to run for one of the positions must file a declaration of candidacy and a sworn statement of interest with the county clerk between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. on Aug. 29. Write-in candidates can file on Sept. 5. Candidates must reside in the district they are seeking to represent.

Successful candidates begin their four-year terms on Jan. 1.

Voters and candidates can find their district and learn about voter registration, polling locations, candidate requirements, and more at the Board of Education election web page

The two-mill capital improvement tax measure would continue a property tax of $2 per each 1,000 of net taxable value for property within the APS district. The tax rate would remain the same.

Revenue from the two-mill levy helps pay for such things as maintenance, security, operations, technology, and musical instruments. If approved, the tax will provide capital revenue for the district through 2030.