Personal tools

Note: This news item is more than a year old. Browse for more current news.


Posted: May 2, 2013

Nearly 140 Teachers Recognized on Eve of Teacher Appreciation Week

The APS Board of Education paid tribute to Teachers of the Month, Horizon Award Winners and National Board Certified Teachers during Wednesday's meeting.

Some Horizon Award winners who attended Wednesday's reception.

As the nation gets ready to celebrate Teacher Appreciation Week next week, Albuquerque Public Schools recognized nearly 140 of its own during the Board of Education’s regular meeting on Wednesday, May 1. The recognition was preceded by a reception hosted by the APS Education Foundation.

National Teacher Appreciation Week is May 6-10.

Among those who were honored were teachers who earned National Board Certification this school year, those who received Horizon Awards this spring and those who were recognized as Teachers of the Month by the APS Education Foundation and Pepsi for the 2012-2013 school year.

“APS has some truly amazing teachers who, honestly, don’t always get the pats on the back they deserve. Here’s our chance to say way to go and thanks to many of those who really are making a difference in the classroom,” said Phill Casaus, APS Education Foundation executive director.

National Board Certified Teachers

Fifty two APS teachers achieved the distinguished honor of earning National Board Certification this school year, ranking APS fifth in the nation in the number of teachers who were certified this school year.

The APS teachers certified in 2012 are Brian Alexander, Mary Lee Anderson, Jean Baca, Kristen Bandy, Jada Bower, Linda Brown, Cindy Caine, Shawna Clark, Jennifer Coughlin, Tammy Crespin, Carin Dhaouadi, Ami DiGregorio, Matthew Dixson, Peter Doane, Lynnette Garcia, Patricia Garcia, Holly Gilster, Ethel Goebel, Kristine Gracey, Kathleen Green, Jennie Jacobson, Cathy Jordan, Ashley Keilbarth, Karla Kellogg, Sonja Kortsch, Holly Kowalski, Elizabeth Little, Monica Maestas, Randy Martin, Jeannie McDowell, Jaime Montoya, Dwayne Norris, Jennifer Orellana, Isaac Pedelty, Tamela Rhoton, Paula Rimmer, Kelly Salada, Debra Sarinana, Daniella Scott, Amy Seery, Elizabeth Sehlmeyer, Janna Shahvar, Mary Spacagna, Shirley Srouji, Anne Marie Strangio, Stefani Talley, Amanda Tapia, Kristin Tomany, Laurie Trembly-Spradlin, Lesley Valencia, Christina Vigil and Mary Zuercher.

Go here for more information on the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

Horizon Awards

Seventy six teachers at 24 schools were recipients of the springtime cycle of the Horizon Awards sponsored by the APS Education Foundation. These teachers earned nearly $75,000 for fine arts, middle and high school activities, literacy and STEM (science, technology, engineering and math). The Horizon Awards go to teachers who are looking to do something innovative in their classrooms.

This spring’s recipients are Valerie Kovach, Sherry Rios, Stephanie Sanchez, Cristina Lopez and Larry Martin of Atrisco Heritage Academy; Sally Giannini, Beverly Martinez, Sheila Hernandez and Jessica Dusseau of Bel Air ES; Jeanne Kumpunen of Chaparral ES; Jennifer Ek, Anne Stevens and Jennifer Rishel of Cleveland MS; Lila Sanchez of Comanche ES; Josephine Darling, Maria Dlinn, Leah Dolan and Wendy Morse of Corrales ES; Amy Sweet and Judy Johnson of East San Jose ES; Mike Peterson and Sam Nesbitt of Eisenhower MS; Ethel Goebel, Danielle Harden, Shannon Rhoades and Jenni Young of Georgia O’Keeffe ES; Edward Browitt and Robert Jojola of Hawthorne ES; Doris Merzweiler, Brita Judd, Joan Culver, Audie Brown, Michael Neff and Deanna Stevenson of Hayes/Wilson MS; Natalie Hotchkiss, Rebeca Zimmermann, Joan Ryan, Sue Triplett and Annmarie Sheahan of Highland HS; Debi Goyer, Mary Gilbertson, Mitch Quandt, Galyanee Rizek and Dana Reilly of LB Johnson MS; Mary Ellen Farrelly and Miriam Martinez of Los Padillas ES; Andrew Cook and Monica Romero of Manzano HS; Tina Siefert of Montezuma ES; Nancy Leffler and Jamie Martinez of Petroglyph ES; Antonio Cruzada of Reginald Chavez ES; Edward Browitt and Travis Tester of Sandia Base ES; Vince Case, Sherry McCarty, Laura McGowan and Laura Hansen of Sandia Mountain Natural History Center; Marion Woolam, Valerie Martinez, Joyce Olivas, Marina Rubio and Eileen Salazar of Sierra Vista ES; Rod Daniel and Phil Perez of Taft MS; Andrea Prangley, Megan Wylie, Gail Ferris, Allison Shanahan, Jess Wiltamuth and Shellina Quillman of Volcano Vista HS; Glenn Giles, Jack Tugwell and Luke Rudys of Whittier ES; and Marco Harris of Wilson MS.

Go here for more information on the Horizon Awards.

Teachers of the Month

The APS Education Foundation, in partnership with Pepsi, recognizes an APS teacher each month during the school year for outstanding contributions to the classroom, school and community. This year’s teachers of the month are Tim Beck of Sandia HS, Ali Nava of Lew Wallace ES, Ruthie Lewis of Wilson MS, Alicia Ruch-Flynn of Freedom HS, Anna Trujillo of Sunset View ES, Trish Eisenzimmer of MacArthur ES, Stephanie Wallace of West Mesa HS, Tia Christmas of Gov. Bent ES, Kimberly Crabtree of Jackson MS, and Susan Leo-Russell of S.R. Marmon ES.

Filed under: employees