Personal tools

Selfless Seniors Archives

Posted: November 2, 2015

Congratulations to the 2016 Selfless Seniors!

29 students will be recognized in the spring for their generosity of spirit.

Twenty-nine of the most giving and community-minded students in the city have been named Selfless Seniors by the APS Education Foundation.

More than 130 nominations from throughout Albuquerque Public Schools were received, and a committee of eight community members reviewed them before making the choices.

Those choices, said Foundation Executive Director Phill Casaus, were difficult.

“The thing you realize almost immediately is how many kids throughout APS are worthy of the honor. You almost wish we had 100 spots for this honor, because so many students live their lives in a way that reflects well on all of us.”

Albuquerque photographer Frank Frost will shoot personalized portraits of the students. The Selfless Seniors Class of 2016 will be honored on March 17, 2016. APS leadership and key community members gather for the celebration, and the students’ photos hang at the Albuquerque International Sunport as well as being displayed on Clear Channel Outdoor electronic billboards.

Students were nominated by classmates, teachers, administrators, family members and friends.

“You never want to get into comparing classes, but I can say this is probably our deepest set of honorees in the event’s history,” Casaus said. “Most of our schools’ communities did a wonderful job of offering a really well-rounded pool of possibilities.”

This year’s Selfless Seniors are:

  • Albuquerque High – Rafael Colon and Kristin Crocker
  • Atrisco Heritage Academy – Daniel Torres and Myrella Gonzalez
  • Cibola – Kelly Angus
  • Del Norte – Xena Gurule and Mia Edwards
  • Eldorado – Caylee Guess and Katelyn Clark
  • Highland – Ramon Alderete, Roman Velazquez and Kateri Daw
  • La Cueva – Lauren Ostermann and Hailey Barlow
  • Manzano – Kaianna O’Neal and Ashley Munoz
  • Rio Grande – Josue Nava and Alma Lozano
  • Sandia – Ryan Nunez and Sarah Martinez
  • Valley – Alyssa Meyer and David Dominguez
  • Volcano Vista – Quinn Steffensen, Tori Elliott and Miracle Luster
  • West Mesa – Nicole Castellano and Alondra Maldonado
  • Schools of Choice/APS Charters – Melody Konior, Public Academy for the Performing Arts; Wyatt Strader, DATA