Personal tools

News from the Education Foundation

Posted: May 7, 2013

Student's Choice for Educator of the Year Contest Winner Announced

The winner and her teacher will throw out the first pitch at the May 17 Isotopes game on Educator Appreciation Night.

The Albuquerque Isotopes have announced the winner of the Student’s Choice for Educator of the Year Essay Contest. The team received more than 230 essays from students in all grades who wanted to nominate their teachers for the award.

    Olivia Rodriguez, an eighth grader at McKinley Middle School, was selected as the top essay-writer. She wrote about the influence that teacher Krystal Irby has had on her academic career.

    The four runners-up are

    • Hyein Choi, 5th grade, North Star Elementary; Kristin Herrmann, teacher
    • Zoe Hughes, 5th grade, Hubert H. Humphrey Elementary; Amy Myers, teacher
    • Madelyn Curtis, kindergarten, Sierra Vista Elementary; Marina Rubio, teacher and
    • Gladys Aragon, 11th grade, Atrisco Heritage Academy High School; Jessica Villalobos, teacher.

    Rodriguez and Irby will throw out the first pitch at Isotopes Park May 17 before the team’s game against the Reno Aces. They also will receive two tickets to the game and a $25 gift card from Dion’s.

    Isotopes officials said they were amazed by the stories and how many educators in APS who are making an impact on their students. Each of the more than 230 entrants will receive a certificate of recognition.

    APS teachers, school employees and their families can get reserved level seats for only $8 for the May 17 game. The deadline to order tickets is Friday, May 10.

    Go here to order tickets online. There is a processing fee for online orders. For more information, contact Jason Buchta at 222-4007 or

    Tags: parents