Personal tools

Note: This news item is more than a year old. Browse for more current news.

News from 2020-2021

Posted: May 24, 2021

School Nurse of the Year

A dozen school nurses were nominated for the annual honor.

It is that time to the winner of the 2020-21 School Nurse of the Year.

This year has been incredibly challenging and very rewarding as so many of our school nurses have gone above and beyond to meet the demands that COVID has brought our way.

The hard work they did was noticed by so many around the district -- evidenced by the number of nominees received this year. 

This year there were 12 nominees for School Nurse of the Year!  The nominees are: 

  • Angela Arnold – Manzano Mesa Elementary School
  • Ann Brooks – Armijo Elementary School
  • Carmen Cedillos – Harrison Middle School
  • Dawn Chavez-Branch – Garfield Middle Schoo
  • Cristina Guevara – Hoover Middle School
  • Dianne Greene – College & Career, Schools on Wheels & Transition Services
  • Jennifer Herring – Tierra Antigua Elementary School
  • Liz Meek – Dennis Chavez Elementary School
  • Justine Ortiz – George I Collaborative School
  • Leigh Plante – Sierra Vista Elementary School

And the winner is…

Molly Covington -- Osuna Elementary School. 

Here is some of what was said about Molly in her nomination:

"Molly’s commitment to student health and wellness is easy to see, even for the most casual of observers. From the prompt attention to students’ needs, whether they are big or small, or the fact that each and every student adores their Nurse Molly, she covers all bases. Molly is a master of triage while having a compassionate ear and a knowledge of her craft."

Tags: Core Schools