Personal tools

Note: This news item is more than a year old. Browse for more current news.

News from 2020-2021

Posted: February 16, 2021

15 APS Students are Candidates for U.S. Presidential Scholars Program

Congratulations to the Albuquerque Public Schools high school seniors for achieving this national honor.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.

Candidates are students who scored exceptionally well on either the SAT of the College Board or the ACT of the American College Testing Program, were nominated by their Chief State School Officer, or were nominated by one of the program’s partner recognition organizations based on outstanding scholarship.

The names of the semifinalists will be posted in mid-April. The names of the 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars will be posted in early May.

Table: Candidates for U.S. Presidential Scholars Program 
Student's NameStudent's School 
 Mia I. Baca Eldorado High School
Kaeli M. Benavidez Early College Academy
Grace E. Chapman Volcano Vista High School
Daphne J. Felt La Cueva High School
Taylor M. Fleming Eldorado High School
Shelton A. Foust Eldorado High School
Joel Gates La Cueva High School
Vivien J. Jones Eldorado High School
Casey T. Pei La Cueva High School
Tiffany Y. Pei La Cueva High School
Richard W. Ross Early College Academy
Liam A. Schenk La Cueva High School
Harley V. Sigmon La Cueva High School
Timothy Wang La Cueva High School
Luke Xue La Cueva High School
Tags: Core Schools