Skip to main content

Personal tools


Note: This news item is more than a year old. Browse for more current news.

More National Merit Scholarship Winners

Posted June 18, 2018, 11:45 AM. Updated August 18, 2020, 3:29 PM.

Congratulations to the recent graduates who received scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities.

Albuquerque Public Schools is proud to announce its College-Sponsored Merit Scholarship winners:

  • Maria Anna Cheshire, Eldorado High School
  • Benjamin C. Cochran, Del Norte High School
  • Matthew J. Eck, La Cueva High School
  • Nicholas D. Justice, La Cueva High School
  • Matthew C. Sanchez, Volcano Vista High School
  • Megan J. Tran, La Cueva High School

These students are among approximately 3,500 winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities. Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

An additional group of scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2018 competition to about 4,000.

This year, 178 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 100 private and 78 public institutions located in 44 states and the District of Columbia.

College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners are a part of the distinguished group of about 7,500 high school seniors who will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth over $31 million. Earlier this spring, NMSC announced winners of National Merit $2500 Scholarships. Those included five 2018 graduates of APS: 

  • Gage D. Boman, Cibola High School
  • Emily M. Clarke, Manzano High School
  • Akshay Jain, La Cueva High School
  • Caroline H. Pineda, Eldorado High School
  • Elizabeth M. Vaughan, La Cueva High School