Personal tools


Posted: March 1, 2019

Elementary SeaPerch Competition

Students competed in underwater robotics sprints and obstacle course.

Albuquerque Public Schools elementary school students participated in a SeaPerch competition on Thursday and Friday, Feb. 28-March 1, at the West Mesa Aquatics Center.

SeaPerch is an innovative underwater robotics program that equips teachers and students with all needed resources to build an underwater Remotely Operated Vehicle (ROV). Starting with a box of loose parts and pieces, the students construct, assemble and test all mechanical and electronic ROV components and systems. Skills learned including reading instructions, identifying components, using tools, electronic soldering, teamwork, leadership and sportsmanship. 

The competitions included a SeaPerch obstacle course and SeaPerch sprint races.

Students from Chaparral, Griegos, Montezuma, Mission Avenue, Lavaland, Carlos Rey and S.R. Marmon elementary schools participated in the competition as well as the Girl Scouts and Juntos program.

The event is hosted by Valley High School through Engineering the Future and the STEM Trajectory Initiative. Community sponsors include High Desert Amateur Radio Club, Robonation/AUVSI Foundation, APS Education Foundation, Sandia National Labs, Van Guard Tech, Improve Group and community volunteers.

Thanks to Blue Cross Blues Shield of New Mexico who invested in the SeaPerch program through the APS Education Foundation. “We have been fortunate to have the support of Blue Cross and Blue Shield of New Mexico for many years.  This longstanding partnership has enhanced the opportunities for our students to succeed by exploring the world of STEM,” said Shannon Barnhill, Executive Director of the APS Education Foundation.

First Place Team

Montezuma - Bilingual Team

  • Teacher Juan Rivera
  • Principal Mark Woodard
  • Students Gilberto P., David C., Bryan M., Jose M.

Second Place Team

Lavaland Elementary School

  • Teacher Shannon Ryan
  • Principal Susan Neddeau
  • Students Elias R., Isaiah R., Jesus V.  Brysen M., Charles C.

Third Place Team

Chaparral Elementary School

  • Teacher Deena Duran
  • Principal Valerie Hoose
  • Students Lynae H., Noah M., Ashley N. Sophia S.

Fourth Place Team

S.R. Marmon Elementary School

  • Teachers Sherri Lesch and Iris Hernandez
  • Principal Sandra Fernandez
  • Students Rashada B., Jenessa C., Victor G., Nevah D.
Filed under: Core Schools, Core Headline