Personal tools

News from the Foundation

Posted: April 10, 2024

Foundation awards Varsity Scholarships to APS Seniors

11 APS Seniors receive a $1,000 scholarship

Congratulations Varsity Scholarship Winners! Eleven names were drawn from the annual Varsity Scholarship drawing. Over 1,000 entries for the Varsity Award Scholarship were received this year! In order to enter, students must have completed a step to prepare for college or a career!

Each year the Foundation awards the Varsity Scholarship.  This scholarship was developed and created by the Foundation’s Student Board members in 2018.  They collaborate with each high school’s College and Career Counselors. It began with seven scholarships a year and this year eleven scholarships will be awarded thanks to donors David and Kay Lund who support four of the eleven scholarships.

This scholarship focuses on taking steps to prepare for college and career and makes all APS students eligible to enter a drawing for a $1,000 scholarship. Eleven scholarships will be awarded to students in the amount of $1,000 each. Student members of the APS Education Foundation Board of Directors have agreed upon the following criteria in order to enter a student’s name into the Varsity Award Scholarship Drawing: 

  • A student must be a senior who is graduating in May 2024 from an Albuquerque Public Schools traditional or magnet high school and planning to pursue post-secondary education in the fall of 2024.
  • Students will submit documentation electronically for the activities that are required to enter.
  • A student’s name can be entered once for each category listed below that they complete. There are ten (10) categories which means a student who completes each item will receive up to 10 entries.

The 2024 Varsity Scholarship recipients are:

  • Velma Brummett – Rio Grande High School
  • Isabella Carlyton – Volcano Vista High School
  • Harmony Guan – La Cueva High School
  • Johnathan Kerze – Eldorado High School
  • Brianna Ledezma – Early College Academy
  • Taiba Mustafa – West Mesa High School
  • Mia Ortega – Albuquerque High School
  • Briana Pena – Atrisco Heritage Academy
  • Mariela Perez Ruiz – Rio Grande High School
  • Rodrigo Isaac Sanchez Morales – Del Norte High School
  • Talan Stohl – La Cueva High School

“This is a unique and wonderful opportunity for our soon-to-be graduates, supporting their future after high school. We are grateful to our student board members who had the innovative idea to support their peers!”, said Shannon Barnhill, Executive Director of the APS Education Foundation.

Congratulations to our winners, and thank you to our Albuquerque Public Schools College and Career Counselors and our donors for making these opportunities possible.

Scholarships are one of many ways the Foundation supports APS.

The APS Education Foundation partners with the community to invest in innovative and enhanced learning opportunities to help APS students reach their full potential.