Personal tools


The list of 39 people who applied online in February 2020 for the Albuquerque Public Schools Superintendent of Schools. Applicants are now being accepted.

Following weeks of community meetings and an online survey to determine the community’s desired qualities and characteristics of a new superintendent, the job was posted in early February with an application deadline of Feb. 24.

The search was postponed due to COVID-19 and was restarted November 9, 2020. Applications are being accepted.

Applicant Statistics

Thirty-nine people applied for APS Superintendent of Schools. Of the 39 applicants 22 are men, 17 are women, 13 are or have been superintendents, 13 work in central office roles, 5 are principals, 8 work in other positions, 19 are from New Mexico, 20 come from 15 other states, and 7 applicants work for APS.

Table: APS Superintendent Job Applicants
Applicant's NamePositionEmployer
Rhonda Ankiewicz Special education geometry teacher Kelly Services
Andres Armijo Executive Director &
High School/Middle School
Principal – Alternative
Ed Programs
Las Cruces Public School District
Melton Baca Former Administrator -
Albuquerque Public Schools
Vickie Bannerman Comprehensive High
School Principal 
Albuquerque Public Schools
Gabriella Blakey Associate Superintendent
for Leadership and Learning
Zone 1
Albuquerque Public Schools
Tonna Burgos Executive Director of
Student Services
Rio Rancho Public Schools
Candice Carter-Oliver Chief Executive Officer Confluence Academies
Michelle Cavazos Chief Officer for
Academics and Social
Emotional Learning
Austin Independent School District
Latanya Collins Director Cariculum Inc.
Dino Coronado Co-Founder &
Chief Operations Officer
Self-Employed (xSPEDite School Services, LLC)
Stacy Diller Superintendent Clayton Municipal School District
Jose Espinoza Assistant Superintendent Mt Diablo Unified
Kimberly Finke Principal Albuquerque Public Schools
Todd Fiske Executive Director Summit Preparatory School
Mark Gabrylczyk National Special Education Consultant Utah State University
Marnie Hazelton Superintendent Roosevelt Union Free School District
Troy Hughes Associate Superintendent
for Leadership and Learning
Zone 4
Albuquerque Public Schools
John (Randy) Johnson Regional Instructional
Superintendent -
Central Region
Denver Public Schools
James Kador School Administrator East Baton Rouge Parish School System
Arleen Kennedy Superintendent St. David Unified School District
Wesley Lindsay Superintendent Carrizozo Municipal Schools
John Marino Educational Consultant Consortium for Educational Change
Shannon Mayfield High School Administrator Allentown School District
James McIntyre Assistant Professor &
Director, Center for
Educational Leadership
University of Tennessee
Kristine Meurer Executive Director, Student,
Family and Community
Supports Division
Albuquerque Public Schools
Melinda Moore Hoover Middle School Chorus Teacher Albuquerque Public Schools
Misael Nascimento Executive Director of
Bilingual Services
Rockford Public Schools, District 205
Pablo Ortega ELL Director Des Moines Public Schools
Rodney Rock Associate Professor of
Educational Leadership and
Special Education
Department Chairperson
New Mexico Highlands University
Arsenio Romero Superintendent of Schools/
Chief Operating Officer
Deming Public Schools
Ralph (Stan) Rounds Executive Director New Mexico Coalition of Educational Leaders
Peter Samaranayake Director of IB Authorization/Teacher United World College–USA
Patrick Sanchez Superintendent Newark Unified School District
Madelyn Serna Marmol Associate Superintendent Albuquerque Public Schools
Willis Smith Principal Hinds County Public Schools
Christy Thompson Division Executive Director Maryland State Department of Education
Lillian Torrez Superintendent Taos Municipal Schools
Bolgen Vargas Consultant Self-employed
Esperanza Zendejas Director of Human Resources San Benito CISD