Personal tools

Note: This news item is more than a year old. Browse for more current news.

Board of Education Recognitions

Posted: March 8, 2021

APS Education Foundation Board

The APS Education Foundation Board was recognized for being named the 2021 Best Board for a Non-Profit in Albuquerque by Albuquerque Business First.

Albuquerque Public Schools Education Foundation is one of nine honorees for Albuquerque Business First's 2021 Philanthropy Awards. The APS Education Foundation solicits, receives, and manages private donations that fund a wide variety of educational programs, activities, and services within the Albuquerque Public School system.

Since 2010, the foundation developed a grant program and provided funding for in-classroom grants through a program called the Horizon Awards. The grant awards have increased to a variety of grant opportunities encompassing the categories of fine arts, literacy, STEM, clubs/activities, before and after school programs, school-wide student achievement projects, college and career, attendance, and competition travel.

Currently, they have placed more than $2.5 million into classrooms, schools, and departments throughout APS. APS Education Foundation board members represent various professional backgrounds, from the banking industry to media marketing, and are well respected within the greater community.  The board also includes three APS students with strong leadership qualities and academic excellence. Congratulations on this fabulous honor!  And thank you for all your work to create innovative and enhanced learning opportunities that help APS students reach their full potential.

APS Education Foundation Board Members

  • Heather Johnson, New Mexico Bank and Trust
  • Joseph (Joe) Trimble, Wells Fargo Bank
  • Mark Burkhard, Southwest Capital Bank
  • Rhiann Atencio, Alliance Data Systems
  • Brenda Begley, Clear Channel Outdoor
  • Sebastian Bujoi. Student Board Member, La Cueva High School
  • Jeff Cain, Rio Grande Credit Union
  • Adrian Chavez, PepsiCo Beverage Company
  • Carlos Fourzan, Entravision
  • Alarie Ray-Garcia, ImPRonta Public Relations & Consulting
  • Patrick Gay, Westwind Landscape Construction, Inc.
  • Courtney Jackson, Community Member
  • Jaedyn Jimenez-Mahboub, Student Board Member, Atrisco Heritage Academy High School
  • Agustin Leon-Saenz, Student Board Member, Albuquerque High School
  • Paula Maes, New Mexico Broadcasters Association
  • Chriselle Martinez, Nusenda Credit Union
  • Shona Martinez. Colliers International
  • Krista Koss Parker. Cafeteria Plan Company
  • Julianne Phares. Comcast
  • Julie Rowey, PNM
  • Ellen Bernstein, ABQ Teachers Federation
  • Dr. David Peercy, APS Board of Education, President
  • Scott Elder, Acting APS Superintendent

Foundation Staff

  • Shannon Barnhill, Executive Director
  • Lawren McConnell, Development Manager
  • Estella Montoya, Business Manager
  • Antoinette Wright, Grants Manager & Writer