Publishing to Your Live Site
A description of how to submit your pages to be published to your live site.
Note: You must be logged in to make any changes to your site. Find out how to log in >>
In order to make your content live on your website, you must publish each item you create (including folders). Visitors to your site will not be able to see content that is in draft or pending approval.
Submitting Pages for Approval
Contributors must submit content they've created to their supervisors for approval. Here is how to submit content to your supervisor to be reviewed and published to your site.
- Choose the Submit for Approval option from the Status dropdown menu.
- You'll see the item state change from Draft to Pending Approval.
- Your supervisor will be notified by email that you've submitted a piece of content for approval. Once they've reviewed the page, they can do one of the following:
- Publish: The page you submitted for approval will be published to your live site. You will receive an email notification with a link to the live page.
- Send Back for More Changes: The page you submitted will be changed back to the draft state. You will receive an email notification letting you know that your supervisor wants something changed on the item before it's published to your live site.
- Edit: Your supervisor can edit the page to make any necessary changes before publishing. You will receive an email notification when they publish the page.
Publishing Pages (Approvers)
Approvers have the ability to publish content directly to their live site. Here is how to publish items you've drafted:
- Click on the item (folder, page, news item, etc.) you wish to publish to your live site.
- Choose Publish from the State dropdown menu.
Items Submitted for Approval
Approvers are notified by email (which will provide a link to the page) when contributors submit pages for approval. In reviewing the pages, approvers can choose one of the following actions from the State dropdown menu:
- Publish: The page your contributor submitted will be published to your live site. All the contributing members of your website will receive an email notification with a link to the live page.
- Send Back for More Changes: This will place the item back into draft mode and will send an email to your contributors saying that you want more changes made before publishing it to your live site.
You can also make your own edits to any page before publishing it by clicking the Edit tab at the top of the page.
Item states tell you whether an item (page, news, event) is visible on your public site or to you as a draft.
The item is in draft and is not visible on your public site.
- From this state, Contributors can: Submit for Approval items that are ready to be published to the live site, Delete newly created draft item, or Delete The Draft when making changes to a page that's currently live (which won't affect the live version of the page).
- From this state, Approvers can do all of the above and can also: Publish the item to be visible on the live site.
The item is published on your live site and therefore publicly visible.
- From this state, Contributors can: Draft Changes to make edits to the existing page, Submit for Deletion items that you no longer want on your site.
- From this state, Approvers can do all of the above and can also: Unpublish regular folders, pages, pages, news items, events (items that you unpublish will change the items back into their draft state; they will no longer be visible on your public site).
The item is still a draft (not visible on your public site) but has been submitted by a contributor to be published on the live site.
- From this state, Contributors can Undo Submit for Approval (places the item back into the draft state) to make more edits to the page before publishing the changes.
- From this state, Approvers can do all of the above and can also: Edit the item to make more changes, Publish the Draft of the item, or Send Back to the Contributor any items that need additional changes.
The item has been submitted to the Web Team to be permanently deleted from your site. Until it is deleted, it is still publicly visible on your live site.
- From this state, Contributors and Approvers can Undo Submit for Deletion, which will withdraw the deletion request and keep the item live on your site.