You are here: Home Employees Weekly Announcements Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Multicultural Council Scholarship

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Multicultural Council Scholarship

Submissions are due before Sept. 9.

It is time again to encourage high school seniors to apply for the Dr.  Martin Luther King Jr Multicultural Council Scholarship. The scholarships are $1,000 each for high school seniors that are planning on entering college in 2016.

Those selected in October as scholarship recipients will be honored on Monday, January 18, 2016 during the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Multicultural Council’s 26th annual celebration.

The form can be downloaded at Feel free to make copies and provide them to interested parties.

Mail scholarship application to:

Dr.  Martin Luther King, Jr. Multicultural Council
PO Box 40306
Albuquerque, NM 87196

Once the application is mailed, notify Alfred Mathewson at

Students are responsible for writing an essay. This essay is based on the images that are on the application forms. In the essay the students should articulate their understanding of civil rights, diversity and community, along with describing how Dr. King’s messages continue to have a powerful influence on society as well as their individual lives.

 The students will be notified by email regarding their application status.

Document Actions
Filed under:
Spread the Word: School Choice Fair is Thursday!
Superintendent Reedy encourages students, families and employees to attend the annual event from 4:30-7 p.m. at the Albuquerque Convention Center.
Save the Date: School Choice Fair is Oct. 26
Plan to visit with representatives from APS traditional, magnet and charter schools from 4:30-7 p.m. at the Convention Center.
Teacher of the Month Phil Olona, Cleveland MS
Pepsi and the APS Education Foundation recognize some of our outstanding teachers.
Student of the Week Orlando Ortiz
6th grader at McKinley Middle School
New Head of APS Education Foundation Named
Shannon Barnhill, who once served as a member of the Foundation team, will now be its executive director.