You are here: Home News Voters Elect 2 Incumbents, 2 New Board Members
Posted February 8, 2017

Voters Elect 2 Incumbents, 2 New Board Members

Dr. David Peercy and Lorenzo Garcia will continue to serve on the APS Board of Education along with newcomers Candelaria “Candy” Patterson and Elizabeth Armijo.

Voters on Tuesday elected four members to the Albuquerque Public Schools Board of Education including two incumbents and two newcomers.

Board President Dr. David Peercy was re-elected by a wide margin in District 7 which includes the far Northeast Heights as was Vice President Lorenzo Garcia in District 3 which includes the North Valley and Downtown.   

Candelaria “Candy” Patterson was a clear favorite in District 5 which represents parts of the Westside. She will replace Steven Michael Quezada who didn’t run for re-election.

Another newcomer to the board is Elizabeth Armijo who dominated a field of six candidates in District 6 which includes parts of the Northeast Heights and East Mountains. The incumbent for that district, Dr. Donald Duran, also didn’t run again.

The Bernalillo County Clerk is scheduled to canvass and certify the election on Friday, and board members will be sworn in during the March 1 board meeting which begins at 5 p.m. at the APS administration building, 6400 Uptown Blvd. NE.

This was one of the largest fields of candidates for an APS board election, with 19 people vying for four seats.

The other three members of the seven-member board – Dr. Analee Maestas, Peggy Muller-Aragón and Barbara Petersen – each have two years remaining of their four-year terms.

“I look forward to working with our new board members, Ms. Armijo and Ms. Patterson, as well as continuing to work with Dr. Peercy and Mr. Garcia,” said Superintendent Raquel Reedy. “We face many challenges and responsibilities, and I appreciate the dedication of each of our board members who truly want to provide the best educational opportunities for all of our students.”

Here are the unofficial results of the election according to Bernalillo County:

District 3

  • Lorenzo Garcia, 65 percent
  • Amy Legant, 17 percent
  • Charles White, 10 percent
  • Ali Ennenga, 8 percent                                 

District 5

  • Candelaria “Candy” Patterson, 57 percent
  • Kayla Marshall, 27 percent
  • Rachael Gonzales, 12 percent
  • Annie Bell-Rahman, 5 percent

District 6

  • Elizabeth Armijo, 53 percent
  • Douglas Brown, 18 percent
  • Abbas Akhil, 13 percent
  • Paul Sievert, 8 percent
  • Paula Maes, 5 percent
  • Melissa Finch, 2 percent

District 7

  • David Peercy, 64 percent
  • Brian Tierney, 27 percent
  • William Steinberg, 5 percent
  • Ian Burch, 5 percent

Learn more about the APS Board of Education.



Document Actions
Filed under:
Mid-School Sports Update
We're working on a plan to continue competitive sports next school year.
Student of the Week Uriel Ortega
A fifth grader at Alameda Elementary School
Celebrating the Past, Present and Future
Some of the best students and teachers in Albuquerque Public Schools were honored during the inaugural Gold Bar Gala sponsored by the APS Education Foundation.
Sandia Mountain Natural History Center Turns 50!
For five decades, APS fifth graders have visited the ecological classrooms and hiked the trails of the center located in Cedar Crest just east of Albuquerque.
Teacher of the Month Maria Ladd, College & Career HS
Pepsi and the APS Education Foundation recognize some of our outstanding teachers.