You are here: Home News Voters Choose New Members for APS Board
Posted February 4, 2015

Note: This news item is more than a year old. Browse for more current news.

Voters Choose New Members for APS Board

Election held Tuesday; Maestas re-elected

Two new members and one existing member were elected to the Albuquerque Public Schools Board of Education during elections on Tuesday.

      In District 1, Dr. Analee Maestas was re-elected to a second 4-year term with 74.4 percent of the vote (446 votes). Challengers Madelyn Jones garnered 17.2 percent of the vote (106 votes) and Colt Balok got 10.4

 percent of the vote (64 votes). District 1 includes the South Valley area of Bernalillo County.

      In District 2, Peggy Muller-Aragon defeated incumbent Kathy Korte. Muller-Aragon received 63.5 percent of the vote (1,918 votes) to Korte’s 36.5 percent (1,103 votes). District 2 includes the West Side of Albuquerque north of I-40.

      In District 4, which includes the downtown area of Albuquerque and where incumbent Marty Esquivel did not seek re-election, Barbara Peterson won the seat over four other challengers with 63.3 percent of the vote (1,856 votes). Mark Gilboard received 17. 8 percent of the vote (522 votes), while John Lopez got 13 percent (380 votes), Sina-Aurelia Pleasant-Soul Bowe got 3.5 percent (103 votes), and Charles MacQuigg got 2.3 percent (69 votes).

      The results will remain unofficial until Bernalillo County Clerk Maggie Toulouse Oliver completes a canvass and certifies the election on Friday.

      The new board members will be sworn in at the March 4 AP S Board of Education meeting.

Document Actions
More National Merit Scholarship Winners
Congratulations to the recent graduates who received scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities.
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of New Mexico Invests in Innovative APS STEM Programs
Story Time in the Park
Monday through Thursday, June 11-July 19, at 25 summer lunch meal sites in the City of Albuquerque and Bernalillo County. Lunch is served at all sites from 11 a.m.- 1 p.m. Monday through Friday.
APS is Hiring!
We have hundreds of openings for lots of different jobs. Apply online.
Budget Includes Money for Raises for First Time in Years
Teachers are expected to see an increase of at least 2.5 percent; other APS employees are expected to get a 2 percent raise.