You are here: Home News Seven More APS Graduates Receive National Merit Scholarships
Posted May 28, 2014

Note: This news item is more than a year old. Browse for more current news.

Seven More APS Graduates Receive National Merit Scholarships

Seven more Albuquerque Public Schools graduates have been named winners in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program.

About 2,500 high school graduates from around the country have won National Merit Scholarships financed by 190 colleges and universities. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study.

“We are very proud of these students and the honor they have received in being awarded these scholarships,” said APS Supt. Winston Brooks.

Scholarship winners from La Cueva High and the colleges they plan to attend are Ashley Anthony, UNM; Maria Kelly, UNM; Christy Lee, University of Southern California; and Ryan Pedersen, Brigham Young University.

Also awarded scholarships were Roderick Cochran of Del Norte High, UNM; Anastasia Niver of Eldorado High, University of Alabama (Birmingham); and Nathaniel Wilson of Cibola, UNM.

These graduates join five other APS graduates named winners of National Merit Scholarships announced earlier.

All the winners qualified as semifinalists based on their performance on the 2012 pre-SAT. To advance as a finalist, students must continue to have an outstanding academic record, be recommended by their school principal, and earn high SAT scores during their junior or senior year.

The students also submitted applications with essays and information about their participation in school and community activities.

Document Actions
High Schoolers: Perfect Attendance Could Mean Cold Hard Cash
One student per grade will win thousands of dollars thanks to the Albuquerque New Car & Truck Dealers Association.
Tools for Staying Informed and In Touch
Families and neighbors play a crucial role in educating students, which is why it is so important to stay informed and in touch.
Superintendent's Message to the Economic Forum of ABQ
Raquel Reedy spoke to the business leaders' group on Wednesday, Aug. 8.
Fill Out Free & Reduced-Price Meal Application Online
The process is easier than ever.
Thanks to All Who Donated School Supplies
Several businesses and organizations including the Corporate Volunteer Council of New Mexico are making sure students start the school year with the tools they need to learn.