You are here: Home News New APS Board Members to be Sworn In
Posted March 3, 2015

Note: This news item is more than a year old. Browse for more current news.

New APS Board Members to be Sworn In

Swearing-in ceremony set for 5 p.m., Wednesday, March 4

Two new and one re-elected member of the Albuquerque Public Schools Board of Education are to be sworn in during the board’s regular meeting that begins at 5 p.m., Wednesday, March 4, in the John Milne Community Room of the Alice & Bruce King Educational Complex (APS Building) at 6400 Uptown Blvd. NE.

New members Peggy Muller-Aragón, representing District 2 that includes the northern area of the West Side, and Barbara Petersen, representing District 4 that includes the near Northeast Heights and Downtown area, will be sworn in, along with returning board member Dr. Analee Maestas, who represents District 1 that includes the South Valley.

Muller-Aragón is a retired elementary school teacher. She has also been active in the community as a volunteer for the Roadrunner Food Bank and a Girl Scout leader.

Petersen is also a retired elementary school teacher and works part-time for the Albuquerque Teachers Federation. She taught in the district for more than 30 years.

Maestas, who currently serves as president of the board, is executive director of La Promesa Early Learning Center Charter School. She holds a doctorate in bilingual/special education from the University of New Mexico.

A welcome reception will precede the swearing-in ceremony at 4 p.m. in the foyer of the John Milne Community Board Room.

All three board members will serve four-year terms and join existing members Lorenzo Garcia, whose District 3 includes the North Valley; Steven Michael Quezada, whose District 5 includes the southern portion of the West Side; Dr. Don Duran, whose District 6 includes the far Northeast Heights; and Dr. David Peercy, whose District 7 includes the northern portion of the Northeast Heights.

The APS Board of Education also is expected to choose new officers and committee chairpersons during the meeting. The standing committees of the board are the audit; capital outlay, property and technology; district equity and engagement; finance committee; and policy and instruction. Committee chairs serve one-year terms.

Document Actions
High Schoolers: Perfect Attendance Could Mean Cold Hard Cash
One student per grade will win thousands of dollars thanks to the Albuquerque New Car & Truck Dealers Association.
Tools for Staying Informed and In Touch
Families and neighbors play a crucial role in educating students, which is why it is so important to stay informed and in touch.
Superintendent's Message to the Economic Forum of ABQ
Raquel Reedy spoke to the business leaders' group on Wednesday, Aug. 8.
Fill Out Free & Reduced-Price Meal Application Online
The process is easier than ever.
Thanks to All Who Donated School Supplies
Several businesses and organizations including the Corporate Volunteer Council of New Mexico are making sure students start the school year with the tools they need to learn.