You are here: Home News Congrats to Our National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists!
Posted September 18, 2017

Congrats to Our National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists!

23 APS seniors are among the nation's top academically talented high school students.

Twenty-three Albuquerque Public Schools high school seniors have been named semifinalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. They are among 16,000 students from across the nation competing for $32 million in scholarships.

To qualify as a semifinalist, students earned top scores on the 2016 preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test that they took as juniors. About 1.6 million students in more than 22,000 high schools took the exam last fall. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. 

"To be recognized as a National Merit Semifinalist is a huge honor for students because it represents years of hard work and dedication to learning," said Superintendent Raquel Reedy. "Congratulations to this fine group of students. We are proud of your accomplishment and expect great things from you in the future."

The 2018 APS semifinalists are:

Cibola High School
Gage Boman
Michael Kiesling

Del Norte High School
Benjamin Cochran

Eldorado High School
Maria Anna Cheshire
Caroline Pineda
Nicolas Savignon
Todd Snow

La Cueva High School
Thomas Brown
Gabriel Cuneo
Kaan Dokmeci
Matthew Eck
Emma Hazard
Akshay Jain
Abigail Jones
Nicholas Justice
Brandon Limary
Siddharth Namachivayam
Daniel Ndibongo
Megan Tran
Elizabeth Vaughan

Manzano High School
Emily Clarke

Volcano Vista High School
Naomi Rankin
Matthew Sanchez

To become a National Merit Scholarship finalist, students must submit a detailed scholarship application in which they provide information about their academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstration of leadership abilities, employment and honors and awards. Students will learn if they are finalists in February.

Those students will compete for one of three merit scholarships:

  • $2,500 National Merit Scholarship (2,500 awarded nationally)
  • Corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship Award (about 1,000 awarded by about 230 corporations and businesses nationally)
  • College-sponsored Merit Scholarship (awarded by about 190 colleges and universities). 
Filed under: Core Headline
Wishes for a Joyous Winter Break
A holiday message from Superintendent Raquel Reedy
APS Education Foundation Announces 2019 Selfless Seniors
Each year, the APS Education Foundation in partnership with Frank Frost Photography recognizes high school seniors who have selflessly given back to their schools and communities.
Special Olympics Unified Champion School Award
La Cueva High School was presented with the 2018 Special Olympics Unified Champion Award.
Rebuilt, Renovated and Repaired
APS has spent millions of voter-approved dollars renovating, rebuilding and repairing aging schools. Here is a list of more than 150 projects since 2010.
Student of the Week JC Sandoval
5th grader School at Comanche Elementary School