You are here: Home News APS Ranks 5th Nationally in Number of Newly Certified Teachers
Posted January 8, 2013

Note: This news item is more than a year old. Browse for more current news.

APS Ranks 5th Nationally in Number of Newly Certified Teachers

52 APS Teachers achieved National Board Certification in 2012.

Albuquerque Public Schools ranks fifth in the nation in the number of teachers earning National Board Certification this year with 52 teachers achieving the distinguished honor.

APS now has 391 teachers certified by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

“We know we have dedicated, hard-working teachers in APS. That’s apparent every time you walk into a classroom. This is just more evidence of how good our teachers are,” said APS Superintendent Winston Brooks. “I congratulate the 52 teachers who earned their national board certification this year, and all 391 teachers who have been honored with this distinction."

More than half of the 93 teachers in New Mexico who earned board certification this year are from APS. In addition, about half of all of the certified teachers in the state – 391 of 769 – teach in APS schools.

New Mexico is ranked 23rd in the nation in the total number of Nationally Board Certified Teachers.

The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is an independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan and nongovernmental organization that advances the quality of teaching and learning by developing professional standards for accomplished teaching. National Board Certification is a voluntary system that certifies teachers who meet high and rigorous standards.

As part of the certification process, candidates complete 10 assessments that are reviewed by trained teachers in their certificate areas. The assessments include four portfolio entries that feature teaching practice and six constructed response exercises that assess content knowledge.

The APS teachers certified in 2012 are

  • Brian Alexander
  • Mary Lee Anderson
  • Jean Baca
  • Kristen Bandy
  • Jada Bower
  • Linda Brown
  • Cindy Caine
  • Shawna Clark
  • Jennifer Coughlin
  • Tammy Crespin
  • Carin Dhaouadi
  • Ami DiGregorio
  • Matthew Dixson
  • Peter Doane
  • Lynnette Garcia
  • Patricia Garcia
  • Holly Gilster
  • Ethel Goebel
  • Kristine Gracey
  • Kathleen Green
  • Jennie Jacobson
  • Cathy Jordan
  • Ashley Keilbarth
  • Karla Kellogg
  • Sonja Kortsch
  • Holly Kowalski
  • Elizabeth Little
  • Monica Maestas
  • Randy Martin
  • Jeannie McDowell
  • Jaime Montoya
  • Dwayne Norris
  • Jennifer Orellana
  • Isaac Pedelty
  • Tamela Rhoton
  • Paula Rimmer
  • Kelly Salada
  • Debra Sarinana
  • Daniella Scott
  • Amy Seery
  • Elizabeth Sehlmeyer
  • Janna Shahvar
  • Mary Spacagna
  • Shirley Srouji
  • Anne Marie Strangio
  • Stefani Talley
  • Amanda Tapia
  • Kristin Tomany
  • Laurie Trembly-Spradlin
  • Lesley Valencia
  • Christina Vigil
  • Mary Zuercher.

For more information on the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, visit


Document Actions
Filed under:
Teacher of the Month Denise Garcia, Van Buren MS
Pepsi and the APS Education Foundation recognize some of our outstanding teachers.
APS Launches Twitter Campaign Focused on Learning
In her weekly message, Supt. Reedy writes about #ADayInSchool
Understanding the APS Budget
We've put together a five-minute video that helps explain the complexities and challenges of developing a budget for the coming school year.
Foundation Ranked Among Nation's Best for 3rd Straight Year
The APS Education Foundation is one of only two K-12 education foundations in the nation ranked in the top 25 for three consecutive years.
Alex Bregman Donates iPads to Help APS Students with Autism
Petroglyph Elementary School is the first recipient of a new foundation created by the third baseman for the World Series champion Houston Astros.