You are here: Home News APS 5th in Number of Newly Nationally Certified Teachers
Posted January 3, 2014

Note: This news item is more than a year old. Browse for more current news.

APS 5th in Number of Newly Nationally Certified Teachers

52 of our teachers earned the distinction in 2013.

For the second consecutive year, Albuquerque Public Schools ranks fifth in the nation in the number of teachers earning National Board Certification with 52 teachers achieving the distinguished honor in 2013.

Only school districts in Los Angeles, Chicago, Wake County (NC) and Jefferson County (KY) had more newly certified teachers than APS.

APS now has 443 teachers certified by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

“National Board Certified Teachers are recognized as being among the best in their profession, and the fact that APS has so many newly certified teachers year after year says a lot about the caliber of dedicated teachers we have in our schools,” said APS Superintendent Winston Brooks. “I congratulate the 52 teachers who earned their national board certification this year, and all of our 443 teachers who have been honored with this distinction.”

Half of the 101 teachers in New Mexico who earned board certification in 2013 are from APS. Likewise, half of 870 certified teachers in the state are in APS schools. New Mexico ranks 21st in the nation in the number of certified teachers.

The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is an independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan and nongovernmental organization that advances the quality of teaching and learning by developing professional standards for accomplished teaching. National Board Certification is a voluntary system that certifies teachers who meet high and rigorous standards.

As part of the certification process, candidates complete 10 assessments that are reviewed by trained teachers in their certificate areas. The assessments include four portfolio entries that feature teaching practice and six constructed response exercises that assess content knowledge.

The APS teachers certified in 2013 are:

  1. Clois Bell
  2. Heather Boni
  3. Laura Brown
  4. Martina Carlson
  5. Deborah Carr
  6. Perri Cordova
  7. Lonnie Dai Zovi
  8. Daniel DeLaO
  9. Leah Dohlan
  10. Tiara Dominguez
  11. Carrie Farm
  12. Angela Fioravantes
  13. Alison Floyd
  14. Doreen Fonda
  15. Therese Garcia
  16. Reuben Gershin
  17. Kathryn Hammel
  18. Camilla Haneberg
  19. Laura Hawton
  20. Sheila Hernandez
  21. Tanith Hudson
  22. Tamara Judge
  23. Adriana Kerr Kindel
  24. Lane Kiehne
  25. Tammie Lamphere
  26. Sherry Lober
  27. Tanya Lockey
  28. Julia Lopes
  29. Irma Lowry
  30. Natalie Martinez
  31. Kelly McCloskey-Romero
  32. Christine Mickey Laffler
  33. Kerry Molnar
  34. Alejandra Nava
  35. Rosemary Neely
  36. Erin Northern
  37. Bridget Priddy
  38. Amy Reece
  39. Monica Romero
  40. Susan Rosprim
  41. Mary Salazar
  42. Amanda Short
  43. Michelle Sprouse
  44. Santiago Stockton
  45. Eric Strauss
  46. Kelly Trigo
  47. Teresa Trujillo-Fairbanks
  48. Venessa Urioste
  49. Valerie Varoz
  50. Sandra Viga
  51. Marcus Waters
  52. Melissa Wauneka

For more information on the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, visit

Document Actions
Filed under:
Safely Viewing the Solar Eclipse
We are requiring students to use solar filter glasses or pinhole cameras to view the solar eclipse on Monday, Aug. 21.
Watch for The Core on Wednesdays
The APS newsletter features good happenings in our schools and community.
Back to School 2017-18
Schools from across the district shared pictures of the first days of the 2017-18 school year.
KANW Offers Broadcasting Class
The course for high school seniors and above begins on Tuesday, Sept. 19.
Albuquerque Public Schools Creates Learning Zones
APS is combining the advantages of being a large urban school district with a more personalized approach to education.