You are here: Home APS Education Foundation Awards & Recognitions TIG/Foundation Innovation Award

TIG/Foundation Innovation Award

Teachers who help improve learning through the use of technology are rewarded for their contributions in the classroom. Learn more below!

Submit your nomination now!

Click here to nominate a teacher.

Technology Integration Group and the APS Education Foundation are again sponsoring the Innovation Awards, which honors a district teacher who is advancing education through the use of technology, including the Promethean ActivBoards.

A monthly $1,600 prize will be awarded in 2014-15, and the Foundation will take nominations throughout the year.

In 2013-14, eight teachers were Innovation Award winners. They include: Philip Friedman, Osuna Elementary; Susan Johnston, Jimmy Carter Middle School; Heather Ortiz, Chaparral Elementary; Molly Rice, Montezuma Elementary; Gary Bodman, Taft Middle School; Rick Sleeter, Eldorado High; Steve Lamb, E.G. Ross Elementary; Seth Hoover, Alamosa Elementary.

In 2012-2013, eight APS teachers won the award. They were: Tom Arnold of Sandia; April Requard of North Star; Lindsey  Bird of Ventana Ranch; Andy Cook of Manzano; Melodie MacDiarmid of Cibola; Krystal Irby of McKinley; Brigid Smith of Atrisco Heritage and Paula Johnson of Valley. All were invited to enjoy an Albuquerque Isotopes game at a suite donated by RayLee Homes: A New Generation in May.

APS teachers with a Promethean board may apply for the award, which includes the opportunity to buy a variety of technology, including ActivClassroom interactive tools or training to assist in the classroom.

A $100 cash award is part of the honor.

With the award, honorees will be able to select peripherals and publisher materials that will integrate with their existing Promethean ActivBoard. It is hoped that this award will allow honorees to spark even more innovative teaching and learning.

Educators may nominate themselves or their colleagues for the award. A committee will evaluate the nominations and select the winner, who will be honored at a school presentation.

Thie upcoming school year with be the fourth year of Innovation Awards. TIG also is a key sponsor of the Oct. 3 A is for Art! gala and is a key sponsor of the Horizon Campaign, the Foundation’s annual effort to raise  private support for a variety of key efforts, including Fine Arts,  Literacy and STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) programs throughout the district.

Document Actions