You are here: Home APS Education Foundation News from the Foundation Help Us Honor Innovation
Posted August 20, 2014

Note: This news item is more than a year old. Browse for more current news.

Help Us Honor Innovation

Nominate a teacher for the monthly TIG/APS Education Foundation Innovation Award.

Technology Integration Group and the APS Education Foundation are again sponsoring the Innovation Award, which honors a district teacher who is advancing education through the use of technology, including the Promethean ActivBoards.

A monthly $1,600 prize will be awarded in 2014-15, and the Foundation will take nominations throughout the year.

In 2013-14, eight teachers were Innovation Award winners. They include:

  • Philip Friedman, Osuna Elementary
  • Susan Johnston, Jimmy Carter Middle School
  • Heather Ortiz, Chaparral Elementary
  • Molly Rice, Montezuma Elementary
  • Gary Bodman, Taft Middle School
  • Rick Sleeter, Eldorado High
  • Steve Lamb, E.G. Ross Elementary
  • Seth Hoover, Alamosa Elementary.

APS teachers with a Promethean board may apply for the award, which includes the opportunity to buy a variety of technology, including ActivClassroom interactive tools or training to assist in the classroom.

A $100 cash award is part of the honor.

With the award, honorees will be able to select peripherals and publisher materials that will integrate with their existing Promethean ActivBoard. It is hoped that this award will allow honorees to spark even more innovative teaching and learning.

Educators may nominate themselves or their colleagues for the award. A committee will evaluate the nominations and select the winner, who will be honored at a school presentation.

This upcoming school year with be the fourth year of Innovation Awards. TIG also is a key sponsor of the Oct. 3 A is for Art! gala and is a key sponsor of the Horizon Campaign, the Foundation’s annual effort to raise  private support for a variety of key efforts, including Fine Arts,  Literacy and STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) programs throughout the district.

Document Actions
Filed under:
APS Education Foundation News
Student of the Week Dallas Oyinatumba
Senior at La Cueva High School
Foundation Ranked Among Nation's Best for 3rd Straight Year
The APS Education Foundation is one of only two K-12 education foundations in the nation ranked in the top 25 for three consecutive years.
Hall of Honor Inductees Announced
Longtime teacher and administrator Mary Ann Anderson and former Deputy Chief Mark Shea will be recognized at the Gold Bar Gala on April 27.
Contact Information

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 25704 Albuquerque NM 87125-0704

Physical Address:
6400 Uptown Blvd. NE Suite 630 East Albuquerque 87110 Map

Phone: (505) 881-0841
Fax: (505) 872-8861

Full staff listing