You are here: Home APS Education Foundation News from the Foundation ECA Junior Named to Foundation Board of Directors
Posted March 10, 2015

Note: This news item is more than a year old. Browse for more current news.

ECA Junior Named to Foundation Board of Directors

Ben Holubiak will join the board in June.

Early College Academy junior Ben Holubiak, who has been a student leader at his school and in the community, will join the APS Education Foundation Board of Directors in June.

 Holubiak, 17, is a member of ECA’s National Honor Society chapter and has been on the honor roll throughout his time at the school. Over the summer, he was a student representative on the committee that helped select his school’s new principal, Patrick Arguelles. He also is the founder and editor of the student newspaper, a member of the YMCA youth leadership program and a member of the New Mexico jazz band.

He joins a board of 22 voting members, which currently includes two APS students -- Atrisco Heritage Academy senior Jonathan Salazar and La Cueva junior Hailey Fortin. Holubiak will assume the spot on the board vacated when Salazar graduates in May. Ten students from around the district applied for the position and five finalists were interviewed by members of the Foundation's Executive Committee before a selection was made.

"If you ask any member of our board they will tell you that are students are among our most energetic and thoughtful members," said Foundation Executive Director Phill Casaus. "Ben will fit right in."

Holubiak is an avid outdoorsman, with a particular interest in backpacking and kayaking.  Other hobbies include personal fitness and reading. In addition, he enjoys playing and recording music.  He hopes to attend the University of New Mexico and earn a degree in either journalism or political science.

Document Actions
APS Education Foundation News
Foundation Ranked Among Nation's Best for 3rd Straight Year
The APS Education Foundation is one of only two K-12 education foundations in the nation ranked in the top 25 for three consecutive years.
Hall of Honor Inductees Announced
Longtime teacher and administrator Mary Ann Anderson and former Deputy Chief Mark Shea will be recognized at the Gold Bar Gala on April 27.
Officers Elected & New Members Join Foundation Board
Thanks to four directors who are terming off after six years of service.
Contact Information

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 25704 Albuquerque NM 87125-0704

Physical Address:
6400 Uptown Blvd. NE Suite 630 East Albuquerque 87110 Map

Phone: (505) 881-0841
Fax: (505) 872-8861

Full staff listing