You are here: Home APS Education Foundation News from the Foundation 2011 Horizon Grant Award Winners Announced
Posted November 1, 2011

Note: This news item is more than a year old. Browse for more current news.

2011 Horizon Grant Award Winners Announced

More than $83,000 Handed out Across APS

Sandia High teacher Adolphus Washington was among the many Horizon Award winners.

Fine arts performances, before- and after-school activities and increased math and literacy skills through the help of electronics are among the innovative projects that will be funded in the 2011 Horizon Awards, sponsored by the APS Education Foundation.

The 2011 Horizon recipients include 28 different projects that involve several dozen APS classrooms and thousands of students throughout the district.

The awards are funded through the Foundation’s Horizon Campaign, which has raised more than $700,000 in cash and in-kind donations since September 2009. In this cycle of Horizon Awards, more than $83,000 was handed out across the district at elementary, middle and high school levels. Teachers could apply for up to $1,500 for Fine Arts, Middle/High School Activities, Literacy and STEM projects in a single classroom and $5,000 for a team concept.

“It’s always great to see the level of projects our teachers run and our kids participate in,” said Foundation Executive Director Phill Casaus. “But none of it could happen without the involvement of our community – the funders of the Horizon Campaign who truly believe in public education.”

Teachers will be invited to the Nov. 16 APS Board of Education meeting, with a reception to follow at City Centre.

A committee of the Foundation’s Board of Directors helped judge the submissions with the help of interested community members.

Winning projects include these recipients, who in many cases represented a team of several teachers:

  • Christine Beverly, Del Norte High School
  • Cheryl Leung, Desert Ridge Middle School
  • Adolphus Washington, Sandia High
  • Jan Delgado, APS Arts Center
  • Camilla Haneberg, Nex+Gen Academy
  • Sara Hutchinson, APS Arts Center
  • Carol Leyendecker, Georgia O’Keefe Elementary School
  • Anne Marie Strangio, Lowell Elementary
  • Tammy Crespin and Thaison Garcia, Madison Middle School
  • Daniel De La O, Lew Wallace Elementary
  • Sally Giannini, Bel-Air Elementary
  • Valerie Martinez, Sierra Vista Elementary
  • Martha McArthur, Adobe Acres Elementary
  • Loretta Murphy, Bandelier Elementary
  • Diana Shea, Marie Hughes Elementary
  • Patricia Snow, La Cueva High
  • Allison Theoret, Polk Middle School
  • Andrea Villano, Alamosa Elementary
  • Laura Wicks, Kennedy Middle School
  • Sara Winsett, New Futures
  • Ronda Davis, APS Math Coaches
  • Jessica Esquibel, LBJ Middle School
  • Joyce Fisher, La Cueva High
  • Ethel Goebel, Georgia O’Keeffe Elementary
  • Thomas Hopkins, Sandia High
  • Kevin Jarigese, Manzano High
  • Paul Mastin, Eisenhower Middle School
  • Patricia McPheron, La Mesa Elementary

Casaus said Horizon Awards will be handed out this spring for the first time in the history of the program as well.

For information on the Horizon Campaign, contact Casaus at 878-6165.

Filed under: employees